Shekhar Gupta elected new president of EGI

  • 1

New Delhi: The Editors Guild of India, at its annual general body meeting held today, unanimously elected Shekhar Gupta, the founder and editor-in-chief of news portal ThePrint, as its president.
A K Bhattacharya, the editorial director of Business Standard, was elected as the general secretary and Sheela Bhatt, the editor (news affairs) of television channel NewsX, was elected as the treasurer, the guild said in a release.
“The general body of the guild also placed on record its deep appreciation of the stewardship of the guild by the outgoing office bearers: Raj Chengappa, Group Editorial Director (Publishing), India Today Group, its president, Prakash Dubey, Group Editor, Dainik Bhaskar, General Secretary and Kalyani Shankar, senior editor and columnist, Treasurer,” it added.