NC demands sacking of cabinet ministers supporting Kathua rape accused

NC demands sacking of cabinet ministers supporting Kathua rape accused
  • 3

Farooq chairs NC core group meet

Srinagar: National Conference President Farooq Abdullah on Thursday chaired a day-long meeting of the party’s core group at party headquarters in Srinagar. The meeting was also attended by NC working president Omar Abdullah.
The core group discussed in detail about the insensitive handling of Kathua rape and murder case by the state government and also expressed disappointment at the failure of the chief minister to act against two cabinet ministers who openly rallied support to subvert the investigation and shield the accused.
In a statement, NC spokesperson said that the core group expressed solidarity with the victim’s family and resolved that the party will not cooperate with the state government until and unless the two cabinet ministers are sacked for their unacceptable, abhorrent and criminal behaviour in the light of this tragedy and its politicization. They resolved the party would consider launching a civil disobedience movement against the state government if it fails to act against the ministers, he said.
A spokesperson that the core group also expressed serious concern over the unabated civilian killings in Kashmir and said the government had failed to protect the lives of innocent civilians by abdicating its basic moral and legal responsibilities.
Expressing solidarity with the families of those civilians who had lost their lives, the party extended heartfelt condolences to them.
The core group said the deteriorating law and order situation in the state was a matter of grave concern and reflected the continued adverse implications of the ruling dispensation’s opportunism and anti-people policies.
The Core Group meeting was also attended by NC general secretary Ali Muhammad Sagar, Muhammad Shafi Uri, Abdul Rahim Rather, Mubarak Gul, Muhammad Akbar Lone, Chaudhary Muhammad Ramzan, Nasir Aslam Wani, Devender Singh Rana, Ajay Sadhotra, Surjeet Singh Slathia, Sajjad Ahmed Kitchloo, Khalid Najeeb Suharwardy, Mushtaq Ahmed Bukhari, Mian Altaf Ahmed, Javed Rana and Shammi Oberoi.