Pro-India parties deceived people at crucial juncture: Geelani

Pro-India parties deceived people at crucial juncture: Geelani
  • 1

‘Righteous movements never fail’

SRINAGAR: Chairman Hurriyat Conference Syed Ali Geelani on Wednesday blamed pro-India parties in Jammu Kashmir for the “prevailing confusion and chaos” in the state, saying “history stands witness to the fact that righteous movements never fail, however tyrant forces vanish and stand nowhere”.
“It is unfortunate that the (pro-India) leadership failed to deliver and even at crucial juncture when we were about to realise and attain our destination, it succumbed to pressure and allied with occupant forces, thus deceived,” Geelani said in his presidential address at the executive body meeting of Hurriyat at Hyderpora here.
Ridiculing pro-India parties for their “criminal silence” over the “genocide” carried by Indian authorities and their forces, Geelani said these parties instead of serving their masters need to listen to their conscience, part ways from pro-India politics, resign from the “so-called” assembly and join the freedom movement.
Calling for boycott of all upcoming elections, Geelani asked people to remain faithful to the “mission nourished by sacred blood of our martyrs”.
A statement issued here said that Hurriyat executive council authorised its chairman to reconstitute and reorder the Hurriyat Conference and appoint its office bearers.
The participants reviewed and discussed the prevailing grim situation in the state and it was observed that Kashmir is a political issue and Hurriyat as representative forum of people will pursue its mission of freedom.
“The repressive and coercive measures will neither dampen our sentiments nor break our resolve,” the executive council said and stressed upon United Nations to realise the sacrifices being presented by people of Jammu Kashmir for the right to self-determination and help in getting this right fulfilled without any more delay and bloodshed.
The meeting expressed serious concern over the plight of hundreds of Kashmiri prisoners lodged in various jails in and outside the state, including those “illegally” arrested by the NIA and lodged in Tihar Jail.
Paying salute to prisoners, the participants said, “We are indebted to their sacrifices as it is because of their valued contribution that we get an inspiration and freedom movement is rejuvenated.”
The meeting also discussed ways to make the Hurriyat Conference more vibrant and active on social and political fronts and certain important resolutions were accepted and decisions were taken in this regard.
Syed Ali Geelani in his address said, “We and our mission being on righteous track have full sustenance and blessings of Almighty Allah. Our struggle for achieving the right to self-determination is based on right and sacred ideology. Millions have offered their sacred sacrifices while nourishing this mission with their blood.”
Stressing for unity and increasing public relations, Hurriyat chairman said, “We should encourage people for their commitment and we need to avoid differences and remain firm. Islam, freedom and unity in our folds can lead us to our destiny and if the entire nation follows these goals, we will definitely achieve our destination very soon.”
Slamming forces, Geelani said they have virtually turned valley into a slaughterhouse and have let lose the reign of terror.
The meeting was attended by heads and representatives of constituent parties of the Hurriyat Conference which include Mohammad Rafiq Owasi, (Tehreek-e-Hurriyat) Syed Mohd Shafi (People’s League) Syed Imtiyaz Shah (Peoples Freedom League) Ad Mohd Shafi Rishi (DPM) Mohd Shafi lone, (Employees Forum), Bilal Sidiqee (Tehreek-e-Mazahmat) Zamrooda Habib (Kashmir Tehreek-e-Khawateen) Feroz Ahmad Khan (Muslim League), Aga Syed Mohammad Yusuf (Perwaan-e-Walayat), Mohammad Yasin Ataie (Peoples League), Mohammad Yusuf Naqash (Islamic Political Party), Hakim Abdul Rashid (Muslim Democratic League) Ghulam Nabi Sumji (Muslim Conference) Ghulam Mohammad Nagu (Anjuman Shari-e-Shiyan) and Ghulam Ahmad Gulzar (Insaf Party).