Geelani iterates appeal to HR bodies: Come to rescue of Kashmiri prisoners

  • 22

SRINAGAR: Chairman Hurriyat Conference Syed Ali Geelani on Tuesday expressed deep concern and anguish over the plight of detainees languishing in different jails in and outside the valley. Citing the treatment meted out to detainees lodged in outside state jails, Geelani said that on one pretext or the other they are harassed, intimidated and subjected to political vendetta.
Geelani in a statement said that political prisoners are ill treated and humiliated for their affiliation with freedom struggle. “In Udhampur jail, the detainees are mercilessly beaten and thrashed and later confined to cells and solitary confinement. The jail authorities treat them like that of criminals,” he said.
Citing the treatment meted out to detainees including senior leader Shabir Ahmad Shah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Ayaz Akbar, Peer Saif ullah, Nayem Ahmad Khan, Raja Meraj-u-Din Kalwal, Javed Ahmad Shah, Shahid Yusuf, Farooq Ahmad Dar, Zahoor Ahmad Watali, Shahid-ul-Islam, Mohammad Aslam Wani, arrested by NIA, Geelani said that they are nor even permitted to seek legal assistance and consult their lawyer.
Blaming jail authorities for their “callous” and “inhuman” approach against detainees, Hurriyat chairman said they are denied medical treatment and contact with near and dear ones.
Referring to Dr Mohammad Qasim Faktoo, Dr Shafi Shariati, Shakil Ahmad Yatoo, Raies Ahmad Mir, Mohammad Yusuf Mir M Rafiq Ganai ,Gh Mohd Khan Sopori, Mohd Ramzan Khan ,Farooq Tawheedi , Ab Samad Inqilabi and Assad ullah Parey, Geelani said that shifting prisoners to jails in far-flung areas is neither justified nor legal.
“Despite the release orders, several detainees including Ameer Hamza Shah, Manzoor Ahmad Kaloo, Ab Gani Bhat, Mohd Ashraf Malik, Bashir Ahmad Qureshi, Aashiq Hussain Bhat, Manzoor Ahmad Najar, Basharat Ahmad Peer, Sajad Ahmad Bhat, Ab Ahad Mir, Mohammad Shaban Khan, Manzoor Ahmad Kaloo, Ab Gani Bhat, Ab Gafar Regu, Mohammad Ashraf Malik, Hakim u Rehman, Mohammad Suliman Wani, Nazir Ahmad Manto, Nazir Ahmad Khawja, Abrar Anitoo, Abid Kachroo, Javed Ahmad Fuley ,Lateef Ahmad Dar, Nazir Ahmad Mantoo, Ab Khaliq Regu, M Ashraf Malik, and Mohd Subhan Wani were not released and are still lodged in different police stations and their detention period is prolonged on one pretext or the other.”
“Even when the prisoners lodged under the notorious PSA complete their term, police and related agencies are ready with another dossier to prolong their detention mostly under fictitious charges, thus prolong their detention period,” he said.
Geelani while hailing the commitment and steadfastness of detainees urged ICRC, Asia Watch, Amnesty International and other human rights organisations to “come to the rescue of these detainees and impress India to treat detainees as per charter laid by international community”.
Meanwhile, Hurriyat in a statement said it welcomed the decision taken by Syed Ali Geelani (of appointing Muhammad Ashraf Sehraie as chairman of Tehreek-e-Hurriyat).
“We welcome and congratulate Mohammad Ashraf Sehraie for being appointed as chairman of the party,” the Hurriyat executive council said. “It is an excellent choice based on expertise, experience and talent.”