CUJ forms teachers’ association, condoles Stephen Hawking’s death

  • 3

JAMMU: Jammu Central University teachers formed an association to collectively engage in on various issues facing teaching community. University teachers convened a GBM at Temporary Academic Block on March 13 and gave a go-ahead to the association.
The GBM was moderated by Dr Neeta from National Security Studies and five office bearers were elected as an Interim Body to frame the draft constitution of the association and look into the legal and technical matters pertaining to registration.
Rahul Thakur from the Department of Tourism and Travel Management was elected as the President of the Interim Body. He assured the teaching community that he would discharge his duty with utmost integrity. Neena Gupta Vij from the English Department, G Durga Rao from Public Policy & Policy Administration Department, Amit Tomar from Physics Department and Pawan Kumar from Nano Sciences were subsequently elected as Vice President, General Secretary, Joint Secretary and Treasurer. This is the first time that an association was formed in the university since its inception, 5 years ago.
After the GBM, the vice chancellor congratulated all the office bearers and teachers.
Meanwhile, CUJ Teachers’ Association organised a condolence meeting for Stephen Hawking, an eminent scientist who died on Tuesday. Teaching community, students and other staff members paid tribute to the deceased scientist by acknowledging his contribution. Teachers’ Association President Rahul Thakur initiated a discussion on the contribution of Stephen Hawking.
Prof S K Khosa, Head, Department of Physical & Astronomical Sciences spoke about his contribution to physics in general. Rashid Ali from the Department of Mass Communication remembered him as to how his books changed perceptions of the people about the cosmos.