Bihar bypolls: RJD wins Araria LS seat

  • 1

PATNA: The RJD today won the Araria Lok Sabha seat in Bihar as well the Jehanabad assembly constituency while the BJP bagged the Bhabhua assembly segment in bypolls that were considered the first electoral test after Nitish Kumar dumped the Grand Alliance and joined hands with the BJP last year.
The outcome is bad news for Chief Minister Kumar whose party candidate Abhiram Sharma was beaten in Jehanabad by more than 35,000 votes by RJD’s Suday Yadav.
While the BJP fielded candidates in Araria and Bhabhua, the JD(U) was in fray in Jehanabad, which is nearly 60 km from capital Patna.
In Araria, RJD’s Sarfaraz Alam defeated his nearest BJP rival Pradip Kumar Singh by over 60,000 votes.
Alam had crossed over from JD(U) to Lalu Prasad’s party to contest the bypoll necessitated by the death of his father and RJD MP Mohammad Taslimuddin on September 17, 2017.
In Jehanabad, RJD’s winner Suday Yadav is son of Mundrika Singh Yadav, former state minister and a close associate of Lalu Prasad, whose death necessitated the byelection.
BJP’s Rinki Rani Pandey, wife of Anand Bhusan Pandey whose death caused the bypoll, defeated Congress rival Shambhu Singh Patel by about 14,000 votes in Bhabhua.
Though the results will have no numerical consequence either in Parliament or on the health of the JD(U)-BJP coalition ministry in Bihar, the bypolls were seen as a litmus test for Kumar.
The results are a boost to Tejaswi Yadav, younger son of Lalu Prasad, who spearheaded the party campaign in the absence of his father who is in Ranchi jail in connection with fodder scam cases.
The bypolls were held on March 11.