Geelani-led Hurriyat meets, discusses JK’s ‘grim situation’

Geelani-led Hurriyat meets, discusses JK’s ‘grim situation’
  • 3

SRINAGAR: Syed Ali Geelani led Hurriyat Conference Executive Body on Sunday held a meeting which was presided over by general secretary Ghulam Nabi Sumji. The participants reviewed and discussed the prevailing grim situation in state including the continuous house detention of its chairman Syed Ali Geelani, snail’s pace proceedings and investigation in rape and murder of minor girl in Kathua, the increasing human rights abuses and denial of political space for the resistance leadership by authorities.
A statement issued here said that since past eight years, Syed Ali Geelani has been barred from offering religious obligations. It said more contingent of police was deployed outside the residence of Geelani and no one was allowed to meet him.
Demanding impartial probe and stringent action against those accused in murder and rape of Kathua minor girl, the executive council blamed authorities for shielding the accused.
The meeting also paid tributes to youth killed in Shopian and other places. The participants blamed Indian leadership for their “haughty and egoistic” approach.
“Despite India utilising all its resources and military might for the last 70 years, the (Kashmir) issue is there and not an iota of change seems to have happened,” the statement said.
Hurriyat urged the international community to take cognisance of the “gross and systematic violations” of human rights taking place in Jammu and Kashmir and pressurise India to stop brutal killings and strangulating genuine voices.
The participants also expressed deep grief over the demise of maternal aunt of amalgam’s chief spokesperson Ghulam Ahmad Gulzar and extended condolences to the grieved family.
The meeting was attended by Ghulam Nabi Sumji (Muslim Conference), Hakim Abdul Rashid, Ghulam Mohd Nagu, Syed Mohammad Shafi, Syed Bashir Andrabi, Mohammad Yasin Ataie, Kh Firdous Wani, Bilal Sidiqee, Imtiyaz Ahmad Shah, Molvi Bashir Ahmad Irfani, Mohammad Shafi Lone, Mohammad Yusuf Naqash, Shaheen Iqbal and Zamrooda Habib, the statement said.