Shifting detainees political vendetta: Geelani

Shifting detainees political vendetta: Geelani
  • 1

SRINAGAR: Hurriyat Conference chairman, Syed Ali Geelani on Friday said shifting detainees to outside state is a political vendetta. He said those detained in Rajasthan, UP, West Bengal, Tihar and other jails of far-flung areas in India are facing immense agonies and difficulties.
“The vengeful treatment to which they are subjected during detention includes off and on solitary confinement, manhandling, denying meeting with families, unavailability of medicines and medical care and substandard quality of food,” Geelani said in a statement.
Expressing deep anguish over the plight of detainees, Hurriyat chairman said despite court orders they are not being released.
“Even those detained by British during the independence movement of India were lodged in jails adjacent to their home. The then President of Indian National Congress was even allowed to keep his secretary with him while in detention.”
“Those lodged in different jails are not criminals but political prisoners who are being subjected to detention for their political convictions,” he said. “Even when the prisoners lodged under the notorious PSA complete their term, police and related agencies are ready with another dossier to prolong their detention mostly under fictitious charges, thus prolong their detention period.”
Lashing out at authorities for their “wickedness and bullying”, the resistance leader said every detainee has a legal and moral right to challenge his detention.
Hailing the sacrifices of political prisoners, Geelani said, “Nation prays for their well-being and prosperity and we salute them for their steadfastness, persistence and commitment.”
He appealed to people asked to take care of the families of prisoners and provide them every possible support.
“Kashmiri political prisoners including Shabir Ahmad Shah, Masarat Aalam Bhat, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Ayaz Akbar, Raja Meraj-u-Din Kalwal, Peer Saif-ullah, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Shahid-ul-Islam, Farooq Ahmad Dar, Kamran Yusuf, Shahid Yousuf, Javed Ahmad Bhat, Zahoor Ahmad Watali, Mohammad Aslam Wani, Dr Shafi Shariati, Dr Mohammad Qasim, Gh Qadir Bhat, Manzoor Ahmad , Tariq Ahmad, Meer Hafiz Ullah, Dr Gh Mohamad Bhat, Muzafar Ahmad Dar, Mohammad Yusuf Mir, Mohammad Yusuf Falahi, Gh Mohamad Khan Sopori, Ameer Hamza, Mohd Rafiq Ganai, Ab Ahad Parah, Shakil Ahmad, Raies Ahmad Mir, Ab Samad Inqilabi, Mohammad Assad Ullah Parey, Hakim Showkat, Molana Sarjan Barkati, Mohammad Ramzan Khan and hundreds of others are the Prisoners of Conscience and we pay our salute for their commitment.”
Meanwhile, the statement said that on a proposed JRL programme, Hurriyat Conference leaders held a protest at Hyderpora against the plight of detainees languishing in different jails in and outside JK.