VC, Div Com discuss arrangements for 17th convocation of University of Jammu

  • 1

JAMMU: Vice Chancellor, University of Jammu Prof. R.D Sharma in presence of Divisional Commissioner, Jammu Hemant Kumar Sharma today chaired a meeting with officers of various concerned departments to discuss arrangements for 17th convocation of University of Jammu to be held on March 4, 2018 at General Zorawar Singh Auditorium here.
Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley would be the chief guest on the occasion and would deliver the convocation address while as Governor N.N Vohra, the Chancellor of the University and Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti will also attend the Convocation.
Threadbare discussions were held on various vital issues related to security, traffic regulation, sitting arrangements, medical, hospitality and protocol, fire & emergency services besides other essential services for the smooth conduct of Convocation.
While discussing the mechanism, Divisional Commissioner Jammu and VC, Jammu University stressed upon the need for close coordination among different agencies.
It was informed in the meeting that for ensuring smooth conduct of the convocation, different committees have been constituted with the responsibilities regarding different activities and arrangements.
The University will confer degrees to candidates who have qualified for award of doctor besides award certificates of merit, prizes and medals on the occasion.
IGP Jammu Dr. S.D Singh, Deputy Commissioner Jammu Kumar Rajeev Ranjan, Additional Commissioner Jammu Rehana Batool, SSP Security Ashok Sharma, SSP Traffic Joginder Singh, Joint Director Information Jammu Naresh Kumar, SE PDD A.K Sachdeva, Registrar Jammu University Dr. Meenakshi Kilam, Dean Student Welfare Satnam Kour, Controller of Examination Sanjeev Mahajan and other concerned officers attended the meeting.