Ashwani, Saleem appointed as members of state news media accreditation committee

  • 4

JAMMU: The government has appointed Ashwani Kumar, president, Press Club Jammu and Mohammad Saleem Pandit, president, Press Club Kashmir as the members of the State News Media Accreditation (SMAC).
The Government has also rechristened the State Press Accreditation Committee (SPAC) as State News Media Accreditation Committee (SNMAC).
The other members of the SNMAC include Bashir Manzar Editor Kashmir Images, Shuja-ul-Haq Bureau Chief India Today TV, Taufiq Rashid Bureau Chief Hindustan Times, Manish Gupta Resident Editor Early Times, Vivek Sharma Correspondent State Times, Pradeep Dutta Bureau Chief Times Now, Tariq Lone video Journalist Aaj Tak, Farooq Javaid Khan photojournalist Rising Kashmir, Rajnesh Bakshi video journalist IBN7 and Channi Anand photo journalist Associated Press.
The Director Information and Public Relations is the member Secretary of the Accreditation Committee.
The Department of Information and Public Relations has already invited applications, in the prescribed format, from the media-persons for issuance of new accreditations and review, updating of the existing accreditations. The meeting of the SNMAC is likely to be convened soon.