UP Lok Sabha bypolls: BJP banks on Modi-Yogi factor

  • 6

LUCKNOW: With a month left for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha bypolls, the BJP is banking on “achievements of the Modi and Yogi governments” to retain the two seats while the opposition is counting on the “failures of the Uttar Pradesh government”.
The BJP is counting on the “achievements of the Narendra Modi-led government at the Centre and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath,” to gain electoral success even as the Congress has said it will highlight the “failures of the state government” before the people.
Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha constituencies were vacated by chief minister Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya respectively, after they became members of the UP Legislative Council.
The bypolls will also be a test for the Congress after its impressive performance in Gujarat polls in December and more recently in by-elections in Rajasthan.
For the BJP, Gorakhpur assumes significance as it is the bastion of UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, who has represented it in Lok Sabha five times. Prior to Adityanath, Gorakhpur was represented in the Parliament by his mentor Avaidyanath three times. Phulpur, on the other hand, which was once the bastion of the Congress, and represented by first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, for the first time witnessed a saffron surge in 2014 Lok Sabha elections, when Maurya emerged victorious.
The Lok Sabha bypolls are considered to be the first major battle of ballot, after the BJP stormed to power in UP in 2017 assembly elections, bagging 325 out of 403 assembly seats along with its allies.
The Election Commission had on Friday (February 9) announced that the bypolls on the seats will be held on March 11.