Legislators among book defaulters of culture dept : Priya

  • 1

Jammu: Minister of state for Culture Priya Sethi informed the house that 41 books issued by the Department of Culture to borrowers including former legislators have not been returned so far.
Ten books are still outstanding against the borrowers like former agriculture minister Abdul Aziz Zargar ‘Kashmir Constitution History and Documents,’ ex-Advisor to Governor MD Moses ‘The Culture of Kashmir’ and other books, Sethi said.
She also informed the house former Chief Secretary to Government Iqbal Khandey has also not returned the book with title ‘Kashmir Ecology and Environment.”
The Minister said that no NDC has been issued by the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council to the former members unless they return the books or the cost is remitted in case of miss-placement or damage to any reference by them.
She also said that around 15501 books including some rare books have been damaged in 2014 floods in Shri Pratap Singh Central Library (SPSCL) Srinagar.
She was responding to a question of Chaudhary Vikram Randhawa.
The Minister said though 15501 books, including some rare books, were damaged in floods, but no rare or costly book is missing from the state libraries.
On another question, Government also informed the Upper House that no book with the title “Conspiracies in Kashmir” written by GM Rajpuri, former speaker of Legislative Assembly is available in the State libraries.
Legislator Ashok Khajuria raised supplementary to the main question.