Health of Kashmiri prisoners in Tihar deteriorating: Geelani

Health of Kashmiri prisoners in Tihar deteriorating: Geelani
  • 4

SRINAGAR: Chairman Hurriyat Conference Syed Ali Geelani on Saturday expressed serious concern over the deteriorating health condition of Kashmiri detainees in Tihar Jail, Delhi and demanded immediate shifting of all Kashmiri prisoners lodged in various Indian jails to valley.
In a statement, Geelani said Zahoor Ahmad Watali is seriously ill and others including Altaf Ahmad Shah, Peer Saifullah, Ayaz Akbar, Raja Meraj-u-Din Kalwal, Shahid-ul-Islam, Farooq Ahmad Dar, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Kamran Yousuf, and Shahid Yosuf are subjected to ill treatment. He said in absence of proper medical care, their health condition is worsening with each passing day.
“Despite their falling health, no medical treatment or care is provided to them,” Geelani said and appealed to Amnesty International, Asia Watch, and other international organisations for human rights to take cognisance of the plight of these detainees and use influence for their release.
Warning authorities, Hurriyat chairman said if any untoward happens to them, the local “puppet rulers” and Delhi shall have to face consequences.
“They (Kashmiri prisoners) are being kept among notorious criminals in Tihar Jail. They are facing threats from criminals. They have not committed any offence but are political prisoners and suffering because of political vendetta,” Geelani said.
He said the move is an attempt to “pressurise and intimidate” the resistance leadership. “NIA failed to prove any substantial proof against those arrested in Kashmir. However, through its biased media, (NIA) declared verdict even before they were arrested,” he said.
Geelani also condemned the continuous detention of resistance leaders including Masarat Alam Bhat, Syeda Aasiya Andrabi, Dr Mohammad Qassim, Dr Mohammad Shafi Shariati, Gh Mohd Khan Sopori, Ameer Hamza Shah, Mir Hafiz Ullah, Mohammad Yusuf Falahi, Ab Gani Bhat, Mohammad Yusuf Lone, Mohammad Shaban Dar, Raies Ahmad Mir, Mohammad Yusuf Mir, Ab Ahad Para, Mohammad Rafiq Ganaie, Fehmeda Sofi, Omer Adil Dar, Mudasir Nadvi, Ab Ahad, Gh Qadir Bhat, Mohammad Shaban Khan, Salman Yusuf, Shakil Ahmad Yatoo, Manzoor Ahmad Kaloo, Haji Mohammad Rustum, Sarjan Barkati, Mohammad Subhan Wani, Ab Khaliq Regu, Gh Mohammad Tantrey, Nasir Ahmad Ganai, Bashir Ahmad Wani, Ab Aziz Ganai, Sheikh Danish, Nazir Ahmad Manto, Javed Ahmad Falahi, Ab Hamid Parey, Assad ullah Parey, Gh Hassan Malik, Aijaz Ahmad Bahru, Mushtaq Ahmad Hura, Mushtaq Ahmad Khandey, Farooq Ahmad Bhat, Javid Ahmad Mir, Mohammad Ramzan Bhat, Gh Nabi Khan, Mufti Ab Ahad Rather, Mohammad Amin Ahangar, Mohammad Amin, Showkat Hakim, Bashir Ahmad Saleh, Sheikh Farooq, Sajad Ahmad Chopan, Sajad Ahmad Mir, Suhail Ahmad Sheikh , Ab Salam Mir, Mohammad Sultan Sopori, Ashfaq Ahmad Parey, Irshad Ahmad Para, Sajad Ahmad Noh, Khurshid Ahmad Lone, Meraj-u-Din Nanda, Gulzar Ahmad Wani, Ikhlas Ahmad Sheikh, Nayeem Ahmad Dar, Ali Mohammad Dar and Farooq Ahmad Sofi and said they were arrested in “fake and fabricated” charges.
He said the detention of these political prisoners is being prolonged on one pretext or the other and frequently PSAs are slapped against them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.