5-time MLA Thakur is BJP’s HP CM

5-time MLA Thakur is BJP’s HP CM

Srinagar: The BJP Sunday announced five-time MLA Jairam Thakur as the party’s chief minister in Himachal Pradesh (HP), after a meeting between the party’s central observers and newly-elected MLAs and other party leaders in Shimla.

The BJP Legislature Party members, Nirmala Sitharaman and Narinder Singh Tomar, returned to the state after chaos and confusion prevailed during their previous visit, The Indian Express reported.

Supporters of former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal and Jairam Thakur had raised slogans in favour of their leaders as Sitharaman and Tomar deliberated on who should lead the BJP government in Himachal.

Dhumal, who lost the election in Sujanpur, has made it clear that he was not in the race for the chief minister’s post.

Thakur, a five-time MLA from Seraj in Mandi district, was the frontrunner for the job as he enjoys a strong backing of the RSS and a section of BJP MLAs in Himachal.