State Football League begins

Srinagar: The preliminary rounds of the premier division matches J&K State Football League – 2017 started in Srinagar on Saturday with inaugural match between Real Kashmir FC and J&K Police XI ending in a goal less draw.
The match played at Synthetic Turf Football Stadium here proved to be a nail bitter as both the teams tried to outwit each other. The Police team played with just 10 players for most part of the match as one of their players was shown red card by the referee.
Principal Tyndale Biscoe School Parvez Samuel Koul was the chief guest on the occassion.
The J&K State Football League – 2017 is being held across the 22 districts of the state these days. The event is being organized by the Jammu and Kashmir Football Association (JKFA) under the auspices of State Sports Council and on the directions of All India Football Federation (AIFF). The premier division teams include JK Bank XI, Forest XI, Police XI, Food & Supplies XI, Accountant General’s XI, Maharaja FC, Iqbal FC, I-League Lone Star KFC, I-League Real Kashmir FC, Power Development Corporation and State Football Academy are participating in the event.
DFA Srinagar, DFA Anantnag, DFA Baramulla, Sopore Zone and Pattan Zone, DFA Budgam, DFA Kulgam, DFA Shopian, DFA Pulwama, DFA Ganderbal, DFA Zone Kupwara and Handwara, DFA Bandipora Zone, Hajin Zone, DFA Kargil and DFA Leh will send their teams for Kashmir province after the culmination of district leagues. Similarly, DFA Jammu, DFA Kathua, DFA Samba, DFA Reasi, DFA Udhampur, DFA Rajouri, DFA Poonch, DFA Doda, DFA Ramban, DFA Kishtwar will send their respective teams from Jammu province.
The event is being sponsored by the State Government through J&K Sports Council.