Govt announces restrictions in Sgr areas tomorrow

Srinagar: Authorities on Tuesday announced restrictions for Wednesday in Srinagar areas falling under the jurisdiction of five police stations to prevent protests and rallies against the killing of two militants and a civilian.

Restrictions under Section 144 of CrPC will remain in force on Wednesday under the jurisdiction of Police Stations Nowhatta, MR Gunj, Rainawari, Khanyar and Safakadal in district Srinagar tomorrow as a precautionary measure to avoid any untoward incident, said an official.

Two militants, Abu Dujana and Arif Lelhari, were killed in a gunfight with forces in Harkipora area of Pulwama district of south Kashmir earlier today.

A civilian was killed after forces opened fire on protesters marching towards the gunfight site.