Kashmiri among 12 language academies to be set up by Delhi govt

Kashmiri among 12 language academies to be set up by Delhi govt
  • 4

New Delhi: Delhi will soon have 12 regional language academies to promote the culture and tradition of the respective regions among Delhiites.

Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia has directed the Delhi Government’s Art, Culture and Languages department to prepare a proposal for formation of 12 language academies in the city.

The 12 languages include Bengali, Gujarati, Marathi, Tamil, Telugu, Malyali, Kannada, Odia, Assamese, Garwahali, Kumaoni, Jaunsari, Kashmiri and Marwadi.

“Since Delhi is the capital, people from all parts of the country live and work here. It is this diversity that forms Delhi’s vibrant and cosmopolitan culture,” Sisodia said in an official order.

“I have found that language academies play an important role in not only promoting the languages of different parts of the county but also the culture and tradition of different regions of the country,” he added.

The AAP dispensation had announced in its annual budget that it shall set up multiple academies during the year.

Seeking to promote Sanskrit among Delhiites, the AAP government had yesterday announced that it would open 75 learning centres of the ancient language across the city.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.