Govt forms working group for ‘operationalisation’ of knowledge initiative

SRINAGAR: Jammu and Kashmir government on Friday formed a five-member working group, headed by advisor to Chief Minister Amitabh Mattoo, to work out modalities to put in operation government’s knowledge initiative.
The other members of the working group are Altaf Bukhari (minister for education and the co-chair of the initiative), K B Agarwal (financial commissioner), Rohit Kansal (principal secretary to CM) and Asgar Samoon (commissioner secretary higher education department).
The group has been tasked to prepare a vision document for interventions in skills, teaching, learning, research and innovation that will be drawn from global best practices and traditional norms, government order issued in this regard states.
The group has also been asked to prepare policies, guidelines and schemes to ensure full literacy and competitive employability through an optimal use of existing infrastructure and human resources available in Jammu and Kashmir. It has to prepare a blueprint for Information and Communication Technology initiatives that can harness the human resources.
The other terms of reference include preparing a plan and guidelines for the creation of knowledge clusters that can become hubs of state-of-the-art technology, research and innovation through the participation of major stakeholders.
The working group has been tasked for preparing a blue print for the creation of a knowledge township that will provide a state-of-the-art environment for the youth to become globally competitive. The township is expected to provide a seamless transition from studying to training to working to living within the same geographical space.
The committee, to be serviced by the higher education department, shall co-opt experts and members for the initiative, as deemed appropriate, in order to produce a time-bound report within twelve months, the order reads.
The group has been asked to submit its report to Chief Minister and shall work in coordination with the relevant departments of the Jammu and Kashmir Government.