This will be Farooq’s third term in Lok Sabha

This will be Farooq’s third term in Lok Sabha

Srinagar: This will be the third term as Lok Sabha member for NC president Dr Farooq Abdullah, who Saturday defeated PDP’s Nazir Ahmad Khan by over 10,000 votes on the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat.
Farooq’s victory is being seen as a major setback for the ruling PDP.
He was earlier elected to the House of People in 1980 and 2009.
Although there were seven other candidates in the fray, it was NOTA that bagged the second runner-up spot with over 930 voters choosing this option, official sources said.
National Conference workers did not celebrate the win of their party president as mark of respect to the eight youths killed in firing by government forces on April 9.
The by-poll to the seat was necessitated after the then PDP leader Tariq Hamid Karra resigned from the Lower House of Parliament in protest against the “atrocities” inflicted upon the people during the uprising triggered by killing of Hizbul Mujahideen commander Burhan Wani last year.

One Response to "This will be Farooq’s third term in Lok Sabha"

  1. Mercy   April 15, 2017 at 7:11 pm

    This is sheer madness.How can he become a representative of kashmiri people in indian parliament when he got a fragmented vote of less than 4% people?I cannot be optimistic especially when Abdullahs are in.It may further the chaos in Kashmir atleast for next decade as it couldn’t be a good sign.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.