Srinagar By-poll: Out of 89883 Farooq gets 48,555 votes

Srinagar: National Conference chief Farooq Abdullah Saturday defeated Nazir Ahmad Khan of PDP and won the Srinagar Lok Sabha bypoll seat.
Farooq won the seat by a margin of over 10,700 votes.
Pertinently, only 89883 votes were polled in Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency out of 12.61 lakh total votes.
Out of the total 89883 votes polled, 88951 were found valid while 932 voters used the NOTA option.
Dr Farooq Abdullah of NC polled 48555 votes while Nazir Ahmed Khan of PDP polled 37779 votes. Out of the other candidates Bikram Singh of J&K Liberal Democratic Party polled 497 votes, Chetan Sharma of Akhil Bharatiya Hindu Mahasabha polled 198 votes, Sajad Reshi of Rashtriya Samajwadi Party (S) polled 155 votes and independent candidates Sajjad Hussain Beigh, Ghulam Hassan Dar, Farooq Ahmad Dar and Mehraj Khurshid Malik polled 363, 199, 630 and 575 votes respectively.
The polling for the seat was held on April 9 amid large- scale violence that left eight persons dead and around two hundred injured.
The constituency had recorded an abysmal 7.13 per cent voter turnout, the lowest ever in its history.
The Election Commission had ordered re-polling in 38 polling stations in violence-hit areas on April 13.