Left-Unity alliance sweeps JNU polls, clean wipeout for RSS’ student wing ABVP

New Delhi: The “Left-Unity” alliance today swept all four seats in the JNU students union election, defeating the RSS’ student wing ABVP with considerable margins.
The Left-affiliated groups have been locked in a battle with ABVP over dominance of their respective ideology on the campus in aftermath of the February 9 incident during which anti-national slogans were allegedly raised, leading to arrest of three students, including the outgoing Jnusupresident Kanhaiya Kumar, in a sedition case.
For the first time, the CPI(ML)’s student wing All IndiaStudents’ Association (AISA), which has enjoyed a strong hold on the campus for years, formed an alliance with the Student Federation of India(SFI) of the CPI(M).
The alliance also emerged victorious on 30 out of 31 seats for councillors. ABVP won only one councillor seat from Department of Sanskrit.
Giving a tough fight to the Left-Unity was Birsa Ambdekar Phule Students Association (BAPSA) which was on the second position for the Presidential post while ABVPwas the second runner for the post of Vice President and General Secretary.
“Mohit Pandey of Left-Unity alliance has been elected as the Jnusupresident, defeating Rahul Sonpimple of BAPSA by a margin of 409 votes.
“Amal Pipli, Satapurta Chakraborty and Tabez Hussain have emerged victorious on the posts of Vice President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary, respectively,” said Ishita Mana, the Chief ElectionCommissioner for Jnusupolls.
Students Front for Swaraj (SFS), the student wing of AAP’s breakaway group Swaraj Abhiyan, made its debut this year by fielding its candidates for the four crucial central panel posts in the varsity but failed to open its account.
Other organisations which had fielded their candidates in the JNU polls include Congress’ National Students Union of Indiaand Democratic Students Federation (DSF), a breakaway group of SFI.
DSF’s Joint Secretary candidate Pratim Ghoshal gave a tough fight to Left-Unity’s Tabrez Hasan but lost the Electiona margin of 362 votes. While Tabrez got 1,670 votes, a total of 1,308 voters chose Pratim.
A total of 1,140 students exercised the None of The Above (NOTA) option.
Satapurta Chakrabaorty, the only girl in the newly elected panel, polled 2,424 votes, defeating Vijay Kumarby a margin of 1,094 votes for the post of General Secretary.
Amal PP won the Vice Presidential post with the highest margin of 1,304 votes, defeating Ravi Ranjan Choudhary.
Celebrations broke out on JNU campus as soon as the results were announced where students danced to the beats of traditional daflis with gulal smeared over their faces amid chants of “azaadi”.
Kanhaiya, who had an eventful tenure as the Jnusupresident, congratulated his successor.
“The nation wants to know..” What happened to #ABVP in #JNUSUPolls? #ShutDownJNU became #ShutDownABVP(sic),” he tweeted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.