State govts propose 22 monuments for central protection under ASI

New Delhi: As many as 22 monuments and sites, including birthplace of B R Ambedkar at Mhow in Madhya Pradesh, have been proposed by various state governments for central protection under Archaeological Survey of India (ASI).
In a written reply in Lok Sabha, Culture Minister Mahesh Sharma said Madhya Pradesh has proposed the ‘birthplace of Dr B R Ambedkar at Mhow’ to be included in the list of centrally protected monuments and sites.
The state has also identified ‘Fort of Bajrang Garh’ for ASI central protection under ASI, he added.
Currently, as many as 3,686 monuments and sites are centrally-protected under the jurisdiction of the ASI which is responsible for their maintenance.
While Madhya Pradesh has proposed birthplace of Ambedkar, Jammu and Kashmir has identified ‘Ancient Buddhist Institute Remains’ in Leh district for central protection.
Uttar Pradesh has identified birthplace of freedom fighter and educationist Madan Mohan Malviya in Lucknow for inclusion in the list, while Maharashtra government has proposed Dwarikanath Kotnis Memorial in Solapur.
Kotnis, also known by his Chinese name Ke Dihua, was one of the five Indian physicians dispatched to China to provide medical assistance during the Second Sino-Japanese War in 1938.
Odisha proposed seven sites, including Group of Temples at Ranipur Jhariyal (Bolangir district), Vimalesvari Temple, Huma, (Sambalpur) and Ganjam Fort; whereas Punjab proposed Jagatjit Palace (Kapurthala) for inclusion in the ASI central protection list.
One site each was also proposed by Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Rajasthan, while Tripura identified four sites, including Buddhist Stupa and other Navograha temples excavated at Pilak in south Tripura district.
Bihar proposed two sites, including Patna College Building and Jackson hostel, for central protection.
To another query, Sharma said about Rs 239 crore were spent for protection of 3,686 monument and sites under ASI in 2015-16, up from about Rs 236 crore in the previous financial year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.