World T20 final: West Indies women dethrown Australia, win final by eight wickets

Kolkata: In a historic first, the West Indies women’s cricket team ended three-time defending champions Australia’s domination by winning the ICC World T20 title with an emphatic eight-wicket victory in the final here on Sunday.

The foundation of the successful chase was laid by a 120-run partnership by openers Hayley Matthews (66 off 45) and skipper Stafanie Taylor (59 off 57), who helped the team chase a stiff target of 149.

The moment the West Indies reached the target courtesy an overthrow, the entire dugout jumped in joy as the team joined the two not out batswomen, Britney Cooper and Deandra Dottin, in the middle.

What made the celebrations more special was the men’s team, led by captain Darren Sammy, bowling coach Curtley Ambrose and all-rounder Andre Russell joined everyone in congratulating the girls.

The girls, as promised to Dwayne Bravo, danced to the beats of the all-rounder’s latest rap compilation ‘Champion’.

It was also the West Indies’ first win over Australia in nine T20 Internationals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.