JK govt declares 10 major roads as National Higwhays

Jammu: Ten major roads, covering a length of 2,264 kms, have been declared as National Highways, government said on Thursday.

Jammu and Kashmir Governor N N Vohra yesterday held a high-level meeting to review all matters related to the National Highways, BRO Roads and Mughal Road in the state.

Jammu-Srinagar, Batote-Kishtwar- Simthan, Uri-Srinagar and Jammu-Akhnoor-Poonch have been declared as the new National Highways, an official spokesperson said.

The work on six stretches on the Jammu-Srinagar National Highway has commenced. Four-laning of the Parimpora-Narbal road on the Uri-Srinagar Highway is also under progress while the 4-laning of the Jammu-Akhnoor sector is likely to start soon, he said.

The work on Z-Morh Tunnel to promote all weather connectivity with Sonamarg and beyond has commenced and that on Zojila Tunnel project is likely to start soon, he said.

Vohra also directed the Regional Director of National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) to take urgent action for developing various amenities along all National Highways, he said.

The Governor stressed the need for an arrangement for the timely and regular maintenance of National Highways by the various agencies concerned.

Vohra directed that a time-bound action plan should be drawn for undertaking a drive to remove all encroachments along the NHs in the state, an official spokesman said.

The review comes in the wake of the death of a member from Gujjar community during an anti-encroachment drive on a highway in Samba district on Monday.

“No fresh encroachment should be allowed and every encroacher should be strictly dealt with,” Vohra said.

He expressed concern over encroachments along the highways and the failure of the officials concerned to discharge their duties under the J&K Ribbon Development Act and the Highway Administration Act, 2002, the spokesman said.