BJP heads for majority in LAHDC polls

Srinagar: Bharatiya Janata Party is heading for a clear majority in the 26-member Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Leh, bagging nine of the 13 seats for which results have been declared so far.
BJP, which won the Lok Sabha polls last year from Ladakh Constituency, needs five more seats to get a majority in the LAHDC polls.
According to the election officials, BJP candidates won from Thiksay, Chuchot, Upper Leh, Phyang, Sku-Markha, Saspol, Temisgam, Khaltse and Skurbuchan council seats in the elections held on October 19.
Congress, which had a strong presence in the previous council, has so far managed only three seats winning Lamayouru, Basgo and Lingshet seats.
National Conference has won only one seat so far.
About eight thousand voters in 26 constituences had to exercise their right in the polls and 274 polling stations across the district were set up to facilitate polling. The contest was mainly between Congress and the BJP, which is looking for wresting the control in the mountainous district for the first time. In the last election, BJP had won only four seats with Congress emerging as the winner. Congress has a history of dominating the council four times except for when Leh Union Territory Front took over the charge. LADHC was constituted in 1995 after the people demanded Union Territory status and elections to the council are held after every five years.