Bazar Committee Anantnag elects Tariq as president, Ahangar secretary

ANANTNAG: Bazar Committee Court Road in this south Kashmir district on Tuesday elected Tariq Ahmad Pampori as its president and Noor Mohammad Ahangar as its secretary.
The elections for the two positions were held by the election board of the All traders association Anantnag (ATAA) under the supervision of its president Mohammad Shafi Wani.
The board has Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Abdul Hamid Sofi, and Abdul Majid Teeli as its members.
Two candidates, Tariq Ahmad Pampori and Zahoor Ahmad Pampori, were in fray for the president’s position. But Tariq got 66 of the 90 votes cast, while only 23 votes were polled in favour of Zahoor.
After his election, Tariq expressed gratitude to the traders registered with the committee.
“I will always work for the welfare of the traders community and will try to come to the expectations of all those who voted for me,” he said.
General Secretary and member of the election board of the trade body, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, said ATAA “is committed” to work for welfare of the district’s traders.
“Anantnag is being called business capital of Kashmir, but unfortunately the government is not serious about addressing the issues traders face here. Traders of Anantnag were the worst-hit in the last year’s floods, but only a handful of them have been provided relief. ATAA will fight for the rehabilitation of the traders of the town,” he said.