6 members leave Hurriyat (M), say it has failed people

Srinagar: The Mirwaiz–led Hurriyat Conference received another blow Saturday with the exit of six general council members over amalgam’s “failure to restore” its 1993 constitution.
Zafar Akber Bhat of Jammu and Kashmir Salvation Movement, Saleem Geelani of Jammu and Kashmir National Peoples Party, Hakeem Abdur Rashid of Muslim League, Yasmeen Raja of Muslim Khwateen Markaz, Bashir Andrabi of Kashmir Freedom Front and Shahid Saleem of Jammu and Kashmir People’s Movement have quit the conglomerate over its alleged failure to restore the 1993 constitution.
“We have left the amalgam for its failure to live up to the expectations of the people. Kashmiri nation has given innumerable sacrifices for the ongoing freedom struggle. And if the conglomerate cannot deliver, we find no reason to stay back,” said one of the leaders, on the condition of anonymity.
He said that the top leadership was time and again urged to revisit the policies and work towards the unification for the resolution of Kashmir issue. However, their requests, he said, went unheard.
“Hurriyat Conference is being treated as a company by a few leaders. Instead of working towards the restoration of 1993 constitution, anti-constitution activities are being carried out. Even general council members are discouraged to express their views,” he said.
He said that the Hurriyat Conference has turned directionless and has failed to end the differences between the general council members and the executive council.
“We have unanimously agreed to quit the Hurriyat Conference. We will plan our next move jointly,” the leader said when asked if they will join the Hurriyat Conference led by Syed Ali Geelani.
Senior Hurriyat Conference leader Prof Abdul Gani Bhat told Kashmir Reader that he has no information about the development.
The exit of six general council members comes  after a year of  senior pro-freedom leader, Shabir Ahmad Shah’s exit for similar reasons.  He formed his own faction of the conglomerate and was  joined by National Front Chairman Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Mahaz-e-Azadi chief patron Azam Inqilabi and Chairman Islamic Political Party Mohammad Yousuf Naqash quit the amalgam in January last year to float Hurriyat Conference Jammu and Kashmir.
All Parties Hurriyat Conference (APHC) an umbrella of pro-freedom parties was found in March 1993 to find a political solution to the Kashmir issue. The Hurriyat Conference constitution rejects any solution to Kashmir dispute within the ambit of Indian Constitution and stresses the resolution either through implementation of standing UN Resolutions or tripartite talks.
Syed Ali Geelani was its chairman for four terms before he left it in 2003 to form his own Hurriyat Conference. The split was largely believed to have been caused by the alleged participation of Peoples Conference (PC) in the elections through proxies.