New CJ to take oath tomorrow

Srinagar: Justice Narayanan Nadar Paul Vasantha Kumar is all set to succeed Justice M M Kumar who superannuated as Chief Justice of J&K High Court on January 5.
Justice Vasanth Kumar will be administrated oath of office by Governor N N Vohra on Monday morning.
The warrant and notification of appointment of Justice Kumar, as the Chief Justice, will be read out by the Registrar General of the Court.
As per the procedure, Justice Kumar will receive ceremonial guard of honour before presiding over the Division Bench alongside with incumbent acting Chief Justice Mohammad Yaqoob Mir at Jammu wing of the court.
According to the weekly ‘cause list’ issued on Saturday, the Division Bench will first hear a Public Interest Litigation filed by one Balvinder Singh, seeking directions for recovery of Sales Tax and VAT from all the defaulters.
Born on March 15, 1955, Justice Kumar was appointed as Additional Judge of Madras High Court on December 10 2005. Previously he held the post of Senior Standing Counsel for Tamil Nadu Public Service Commission and also Standing Counsel for Central Government. He was also given an honorary post of the member in Ecclesiastical Synod Court, C.S.I. Specialist in Service Law, Labour Law and Education matter. Justice Kumar was appointed permanent judge of the Madras High Court on April 20, 2007.
With the appointment of Justice Kumar, the bench strength of the J&K High Court will go to nine out of the sanctioned strengthen of 14 judges.
In March 2013, five new judges took oath simultaneously, taking the bench strength to 12 against the sanctioned strength of nine permanent and five Additional Judges.
However, over the time the bench strength reduced with Justice Jai Pal Singh attained superannuation on April 5 2013 while Justice Mansoor Ahmad Mir moved from parent state after his appointment as Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh. In November last year, Justice Virender Singh was appointed as Chief Justice of Jharkhand High Court while formed Chief Justice retired on January 5.