RS polls, govt formation separate issues: PDP

Srinagar: Rajya Sabha polls scheduled February 7 and government formation in the state are not linked, PDP spokesman Naeem Akhtar said on Tuesday, a day before the Election Commission of India is slated to issue notifications for election to four RS seats in the state.
“These are two different issues,” Akhtar told a Hyderabad-based television channel.
Asked whether the government will be in place before February 7 when both RS polls and assembly elections in New Delhi are scheduled to take place, Akhtar said, “I cannot say how much time it will take.”
However, he said talks with BJP regarding government formation were in progress even as a “structured dialogue is yet to start”.
“People voted for a popular government. They voted for change. We are at it and efforts are underway for swift movement in this regard,” he said.
Asked whether or not there was any forward movement regarding Common Minimum Program between the two parties, Akhtar said that it will be done once structured dialogue starts.
“What will be its contour are to be discussed but as far as PDP is concerned, we want such a government which brings about the change such peace on LoC and borders. There are still laws as result of which justice is not done to families of those who lose life. We want revival of reconciliation process started by Vajpayee.”
Meanwhile, the ECI will be issuing three separate notifications to hold for four vacancies of Rajya Sabha—first against the vacancy of Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, second against the vacancy due to retirement of J&K Congress chief Prof Saif-ud-Din Soz and third against the vacancies of two National Conference members—Mohammad Shafi Uri and Ghulam Nabi Wani Ratanpuri.
“Consequently, four members to be elected in the Rajya Sabha elections will hold office for full tenure of six years,” reads an order of Dhirendra Ojha, director Election Commission.
In light of the Supreme Court ruling, all the 87-elected members to 12th assembly are eligible to vote for RS candidates though they have not taken the oath yet.