All polling stations in Srinagar declared ‘supersensitive’

Srinagar: All polling stations in this summer capital of J&K are ‘supersensitive’ and necessary measures have been put in place to hold free and fair elections, authorities said Wednesday.
“All polling stations in Srinagar are supersensitive,” District Commissioner Srinagar Farooq Shah said while addressing a press conference here. He said there are 804 polling stations located at 412 locations and the total number of voters is 623,717.
Shah, who is also District Election Officer, issued notification for holding elections in the eight Assembly constituencies of Srinagar in the fourth phase of the five-phased elections on December 14. The eight constituencies are: Hazratbal, Zadibal, Eidgah, Khanyar, Habba Kadal, Amira Kadal, Sonawar and Batamaloo.
For migrant Kashmiri Pandits, 25 special polling stations including 20 at Jammu, 4 at Delhi and one at Udhampur have also been set up, Shah said, adding that there are 38 service voters in the electoral rolls of the district.
“Total number of migrant voters (from Srinagar) as on October 15, 2014 is 30,364. Habba Kadal has the highest number of migrant voters—16,710—followed by Amira Kadal with 4,976 voters,” said Shah.
He said that for maintenance of law and order, the district has been divided into 23 zones comprising 111 sectors for which zonal magistrates and sector magistrates have been deployed.
As per the notification, November 26 will be the last date for filing of nominations and updating the voter list. Scrutiny of the papers will be held on November 27 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 29.