Valley takes lead in third gender electoral registration

SRINAGAR: Third gender in Kashmir Valley has taken the lead over their counterparts from the state’s other regions in registering as electors.
Of the total 97 electors from the stigmatised gender registered to vote for 87 Assembly constituencies of the state, as many as 76 are from the Valley.
As per the official data, of the most transgender voters, 18 are registered in Anantnag district in south Kashmir followed by north Kashmir’s Baramulla where 15 members of the community may exercise their franchise.
South Kashmir’s Wachi Assembly constituency and north Kashmir’s Pattan Assembly segment have 12 each registered third gender voters.
Shangus Assembly segment of Anantnag district alone has eight members registered in this category while Shopian, Bandipora, Kulgam, Budgam, Pulwama have 13, seven, six, three, and five transgender voters, respectively. Kupwara and Srinagar districts have four each registered voters from the community.
In comparison to the Valley, only 15 members of the third gender community from Jammu have registered for voting while the number from Ladakh is only six.
In the five districts of Jammu—Kishtwar, Ramban, Reasi, Kathua and Rajouri—no member from the category has registered while Udhampur, Rajouri, Samba and Doda district have one each third gender electors.
Ladakh has four third gender voters while Leh and Kargil have four and two, respectively.
In April this year, Supreme Court of India created the third gender category allowing transgender people to identify themselves as such on the official documents.