PDP releases first list of candidates for Assembly polls

Srinagar: Opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP) on Tuesday released its first list of 25 candidates for upcoming Assembly polls in the state.
The list, containing some 12 new faces, was finalised at a meeting of the PDP’s Political Affairs Committee (PAC) on Saturday, a party spokesman said here.
The PDP is the first political party in the state to release names of candidates for the polls.
The party has retained sitting MLAs in Lolab, Sangrama, Chadoora, Tral, Pampore, Shangus, Pahalgam and Darhal, the spokesman said.
Two former bureaucrats and a former Congress leader are among 12 new faces who were given party tickets to contest the elections.
Abdul Majid Padder, who unsuccessfully contested the last Assembly elections from Noorabad in south Kashmir in 2008 on the Congress ticket, joined the PDP last year and had been given the party ticket for the same constituency.
Mehboob Iqbal and B A Runyal, two former bureaucrats, will contest from Bhaderwah and Banihal seats in Jammu region, respectively.
Among the new faces is Imran Ansari, son of senior Shia leader and PDP vice president Moulvi Iftikhar Hussain Ansari. Imran will be the party candidate for Zadibal seat in Srinagar. Ghulam Nabi Panditpuri will contest from Langate seat, Mohammad Yasir Reshi from Sonawari, Mohammad Ashraf Mir from Sonawar, Nazir Ahmad Laway from Kulgam and Abdul Majeed from Inderwal, the spokesman said.
Among other candidates whose names figured in the list are: Abdul Haq Khan (Lolab), Basharat Bukhari (Sangrama), Javid Mustafa Mir (Chadoora), Mushtaq Ahmad Shah (Tral), Zahoor Ahmad Mir (Pampore), Abdul Majeed Padder (Noorabad), Peer Mansoor Hussain (Shangus), Rafi Ahmad Mir (Pahalgam), Choudhary Zulfikar Ali (Darhal), Swami Raj Bhagat (Ramban), Imtiyaz Hussain Shan (Gool Arnas), Sukh Dev (Udhampur), Hans Raj (Chenani), Bharat Mahajan (Jammu East), Bushan Dogra (R S Pura), S Trilok Singh Bajwa (Suchtgarh) and Syed Assad Hussain Shah Bari (Kalakote).
The second list of party candidates will be released shortly, the spokesman said.