After drubbing, NC-Cong blame game deepens

Srinagar: The ruling alliance in Jammu and Kashmir is delicately poised as both Congress and National Conference continue to trade charges for the drubbing in the just concluded election to Indian Parliament.
The blame game had started soon after election results were out, with state Congress chief Saif-ud-Din Soz holding “public hatred against National Conference” responsible for the defeat of coalition candidates in the state.
“Given the result, there was no vote transformation in favour of our candidates from Congress,” said Nasir Aslam Wani, who was dropped by Chief Minister Omar Abdullah in his first cabinet reshuffle on January 15, and posted as provincial president of the party for Kashmir.
“There may be shortcomings on our part and public discontent which was generally due to 2010 killings and hanging of Afzal Guru. I belief, Afzal Guru hanging was directly linked to Congress and we bore the brunt for its fallout and it was purely due to Congress,” Wani said.
Responding to NC’s accusations, Congress MLC Ghulam Nabi Monga said that the party was giving such statements “purely out of frustration.”
“They did not get their own vote. What happened in Kangan? There they have their own minister (Mian) Altaf sahib. If they will constitute an inquiry committee and if that committee conducts itself impartially, they will find that they did not get their own votes,” Monga said, adding, “They are given such statements purely out of frustration.”
Both NC as well as Congress candidates suffered humiliating defeat at the hands of two opposition parties—PDP and BJP. Two of alliance stalwarts—Farooq Abdullah and Ghulam Nabi Azad had to bite the dust in what was the first defeat for both of them.
While Farooq, NC patron and three-time Chief Minister of the state, came second for the first time in 30 years of political career, Azad, who was recently declared India’s ‘best Health Minister ever’, faced drubbing in maiden attempt in the elections for Lok Sabha.
In Kashmir, NC candidates, who were seeking re-election, got 396713 votes as against 1137433 votes polled for three Lok Sabha constituencies spanned in ten district of Kashmir region.
While the candidates—Farooq Abdullah, Mehboob Beg and Sharif-ud-Din— had vote share of 34.78 percent, PDP candidates—Mehbooba Mufti, Muzaffar Hussain Beig and Tariq Hameed Karra—with 533629 votes got 46.91 percent votes.
In comparison, in 2009 Parliamentary elections, which saw NC trio’s success, the party vote share was 47.79 percent among 1042721 total vote polled.
Then, the PDP candidates—Peer Mohammad Hussain (Anantnag), Iftikhar Hussain Ansari (Srinagar) and Mohammad Dilawar Mir (Baramulla)—with 398094 votes had a share of 38.17 percent.