22 IAS, 211 KAS officers fail to submit property returns

Srinagar: In contravention to Civil Service norms, as many as 22 Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and 211 Kashmir Administrative Service (KAS) officers have failed to submit details of Annual Property Returns (APRs) to General Administration Department.
As per Jammu and Kashmir Public Men and Public Servants Declaration of Assets and other Provisions Act, 1983, an IAS or a KAS officer is required to submit APRs of the assets held by him/her and his/her family members to GAD in January every year.
However, 22 out of 99 IAS officers and 211 out of 436 KAS officers have failed to submit the APRs which may affect their promotion and empanelment to next level postings, official sources told Kashmir Reader on Friday.
Among the defaulters in KAS cadre include District Deputy Commissioners of Pulwama—Manzoor Ahmad Lone, Shopian—Bashir Ahmad Bhat, Baramulla—Farooq Ahmad Lone, Ramban—Mohammad Husain Malik, Kishtwar—Mohammad Javed Khan and Ganderbal—Sarmad Hafeez.
Besides the six DDCs, there are seven other DCs who are yet to submit the APRs and include Mohammad Ashraf Wani (Relief Organization Migrants, Srinagar), Mohammad Hussain Mir (in the office of Financial Commissioner, Revenue), Gulzar Ahmad Dar (Excise—Executive, Kashmir), Manzoor Ahmad Bhat (Commercial Taxes—Appeals, Srinagar), Mehmood Ahmad Shah (Commercial Taxes Vigilance and Inspection Kashmir) and M D Rather (Commercial Taxes Recoveries, Srinagar).
The APRs are to be submitted by an officer in duplicate on prescribed performa regarding all the assets possessed by him/her and his/her family members including movable property exceeding Rs. 20,000.