Only 70 polling stations declared ‘normal’ in Baramulla constituency

Srinagar: The nomination process for Baramulla and Ladakh Lok Sabha constituencies commenced Saturday  after the Election Commission issued a notification in this regard.
Both the constituencies will to polls on May seven.
The last date of filing nominations for these two seats is April 19, scrutiny will take place on April 21 and the last date of withdrawals is April 23.
In Baramulla, out of a  total 1616 polling stations as many as “1091 polling stations have been declared as hyper-sensitive , 445 sensitive and only 70 as normal,” Returning Officer Farooq Ahmad Lone said.
The constituency is witnessing a multi-cornered contest with ruling National Conference fielding sitting MP Shariefud Din Shariq and opposition PDP former Deputy Chief Minister Muzaffar Hussain Baig.
Former Prasar Bharti officer Abdul Salam Bajad of the Peoples Conference, headed by former separatist leader Sajad Gani Lone, is also in the fray.
The Awami Ittehad Party has put up party founder Abdul Rashid Sheikh from Baramulla.
In Ladakh constituency, only 22 polling stations have been categorised as hyper-senstive, officials said.
The constituency has 1.78 lakh voters.