14 candidates in fray for Udhampur seat

KATHUA: Following the scrutiny of nominations, 14 candidates have remained in fray for 5-Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency.
Giving the details of the scrutiny, the Returning Officer, Jitendra K Singh for 5-Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency said that in all 31 nominations were received till the last day for filing the papers by the desirous candidates. These included more than one nomination filed by several candidates. During the course of scrutiny, 8 nominations papers were rejected while decision on one was deferred.
The nomination papers which were accepted by the RO include those of Prof Bhim Singh (JK Nationalist Panthers Party), Dr Jitendra Singh ( Bhartiya Janta Party ), Dharam Pal Balgotra ( Bahujan Samaj Party), Ghulam Nabi Azad ( Indian National Congress), Mohd. Arshad Malik ( People Democratic Party), Amrit Barsha ( Samajwadi Party), Anil Khajuria ( All J&K Kissan Mazdoor Party), Jagdish Kumar ( Jai Maha Bharath Party), Kanchan Sharma ( Bhartiya Bahujan Party), Girdhari Lal ( Bhartiya Bahujan Party), Anil Kumar Gupta ( Independent), Bansi Lal ( Independent), Sham Lal ( Independent) and Nazakat Hussain ( Independent).
Meanwhile, Chief Electoral Officer, J&K Umang Narula Thursday held a high level meeting and reviewed law and order situation in Jammu and Udhampur parliamentary constituencies.