SRINAGAR: Mehrajuddin Khan of Jammu and Kashmir and Avtar Singh of army emerged as the top performers pocketing two gold medals each is as many categories in Alpine Ski Snowboarding Championship 2014 that concluded Thursday at world famous skiing venue, Gulmarg.
Khan, an upcoming J&K skier emerged victorious in Slalom Snowboarding for junior boys and had a similar result in Giant Slalom Snowboarding as well to be one of the star acts of the six-day championship that featured 60 skiers from various parts of India.
Avtaar, who plies his trade for army, was the player of the tournament by a distance getting a gold medal each in Slalom Snowboarding for men and Giant Slalom Snowboarding.
The much fancied event was organised by Winter Games of Association of Jammu and Kashmir in support of Winter Games Association of India.
Khan was followed by Raja Wasim of Delhi and IISM’s Zubair Ahmad, who earned second and third spot respectively, in Slalom Snowboarding for junior boys, and in giant slalom category it was Zubair’s turn to bag second and third spot going to Raja.
In Slalom Snowboarding for men, gold went to Avtaar and silver and bronze medals were pocketed by Tim Bahadur and Leel Bahadur of army respectively and Avtaar also topped in Giant Slalom event with Leel and Zahoor Ahmad of IISM settling with silver and bronze respectively.
Anchal Thakur and Varsha Devi, both from Himachal Pradesh, lightened up the women’s event, winning gold in their respective categories. Thakur topped in Slalom Alpine Snowboarding for women event with Varsha and Pawar of GMVN getting silver and bronze respectively.
And, it was Varsha’s moment in Giant Slalom Alpine Snowboarding, piping GMVN’s Preeti Dimri and Anchal Thakur, who won silver and bronze respectively, to earn gold.
Arif Khan did his state proud getting the top podium finish in Slalom Alpine Snowboarding for men followed by HAWAS’ TK Liam and Heera Lal from HP.
HP’s Santosh Thakur pocketed goal in Giant Slalom Alpine Snowboarding for men and Liam and Lal finishing second and third.
Divisional Commissioner Kashmir, Shalindra Kumar, Deputy Commissioner Srinagar, Farooq Ahmad Shah, who is also the president of Winter Games Association of Jammu and Kashmir,  and Deputy Commissioner Baramulla, Dr. Farooq Ahmad Lone were prominent figures present at the presentation cum concluding ceremony.
Divisional Commissioner Kashmir said that State Government has taken up several initiatives for propagating message of love and peace, aimed at motivation of tourists at global level to visit the State and earning livelihood for masses and improving economy of the State. He said that the Ski Snowboarding championship-2014 bagged great applause from within and outside India and steps are on  to promote more such activities at other tourist attractions of the State.
Shah said that he and his colleagues in Winter Games Association of J&K were keen to promote the adventure sports outside state and market Gulmarg as a premier venue for winter games.

Event     Winner     Team
Slalom Snowboarding (Junior Boys)    Mehrajuddin Khan     Jammu and Kashmir
Giant Slalom Snowboarding (Junior Boys)      Mehrajuddin Khan    Jammu and Kashmir
Slalom Alpine Snowboarding (Men)    Arif Khan     Jammu and Kashmir
Giant Slalom Alpine Snowboarding (Men)    Santosh Thakur     Himachal Pradesh
Slalom Alpine (Women)    Anchal Thakur     Himachal Pradesh
Giant Slalom Alpine (Women)    Varsha Devi     Himachal Pradesh
Slalom Snowboarding (Men)    Avtaar Singh     Army
Giant Slalom Snowboarding (Men)     Avtaar Singh     Army