SRINAGAR: Jammu and Kashmir Football Association (JKFA) Monday announced the 20 member squad for the North Zone qualifying round of the 68th Santosh Trophy National Football Championship that will be held in Delhi from January 30 before the main round starts in Siliguri.
The team will leave for Delhi on January 28. The final round of the tournament will be held at Siliguri, West Bengal from February 24 to March 9.
The other teams are in the North Zone qualifying round are Uttar Pradesh, Punjab and Himachal Pradesh.
J&K is placed in group B and will play its first group match against U.P on January 31 and on February 2nd will take on former champion Punjab and on February 4 will battle it out against HimachalPradesh.
The skipper of the squad is yet to be announced. The team will be accompanied by coach Abdul Majeed Kukroo and Majid Yousuf Dar will be its manager. Dr Karran Nayyar has been anointed as physiotherapist.
The squad consists of some youngsters but surprisingly J&K’s soccer’s two premier stars Ishfaq Ahmad and Mehrajuddin Wadoo haven’t been picked thanks to their commitments with club Mohamadean Sporting Club and part of I-League that, according to JKFA, bars them from participating in Santosh Trophy.
The squad was picked after three-week coaching cum training camp held at Jammu which was supervised by Dr. Nirmalok Singh, Member State Sports Council & Vice President JKFA, S.M.Gill, Ex. M.L.C. & Member JKFA and Narendra Gupta Member State Sports Council.
President JKFA Zameer Ahmad Thakur has congratulated the selected players and hoped that players have got the talent to bring laurels for their state at the big stage.
The Squad: Vikramjeet Singh, Faisal Ahsan, Waseen Feroz, Gautam Mehra, Azhar Ali, Yaseen Rashid, Aman Thapa, Romesh Verma Pat, Ashiq Mushtaq, Rohit Kumar, Shahnawaz Bashir, Asif Majeed, Khalid Qayoom, Waseem Maqdoomi, Zameer-ul-Hassan, Sandeep Sharma, Prem Kumar, Shahid Mushtaq, Toufeeq Ahmed and Amanjot Singh