Vaid is new police chief

Vaid is new police chief

Cabinet approves Guv address, promotions
Srinagar: The government on Wednesday cleared the appointment of special director general (Law and Order) SP Vaid as the new police chief of the state.
Vaid, an Indian Police Service officer, will replace K Rajendra Kumar, who is retiring from services by the end of this month.
An official handout said Vaid’s appointment was cleared in the cabinet meeting chaired by chief minister Mehbooba Mufti in the state’s winter capital.
The 57-year-old Vaid joined premier IPS in 1986 and served in both capitals of the state. He will stay in office till October 2019. He was appointed as special director general during the massive protests in the aftermath of the killing of Hizb commander Burhan Wani.
Kumar, who held the top post since May 2014, completed his term in August when the protests peaked but was granted three-month extension.
It was learnt that three top contenders including DG prisons SK Mishra and SM Sahai were in race for the top position but the PDP-BJP government was in favour of appointing a local officer.
A senior police officer described Vaid as a “professional” cop who looks through merits and demerits of a problem.
Meanwhile, the cabinet approved the draft of the address to be delivered by Governor N N Vohra, to the joint sitting of the State legislature commencing on January 2. Also, the government approved promotion of 17 IAS Officers. The officers including Shaleen Kabra, Bipul Pathak and Ashok Kumar Parmar were promoted to the higher administrative grade of IAS (Rs 67000-79000 with annual increment of 3%) from 01-01-2017.
Kabra and Pathak are designated as Principal Secretaries to the Government in their respective departments.  The cabinet also approved promotion of Sanjeev Verma, Mandeep Kumar Bhandari, Anal Kumar Gupta, Raj Kumar Bhagat,. Nirmal Sharma and Khurshid Ahmad Shah to the Super Time Scale of IAS (Rs 37400-67000 + GP of Rs 10,000) from 01-01-2017.Consequent upon their promotion, Verma, Bhandari, Gupta, Bhagat and Shah are designated as Commissioner/Secretaries to the Government in their own departments.
The cabinet approved promotion of Mandeep Kour, Pandurang K Pole, Salma Hamid, Tasneem Maajid and Farooq Ahmad Shah to the Selection Grade of IAS (Rs 37400-67000 + GP of Rs 8700) w.e.f from 01-01-2017. Cabinet also approved promotion of Avny Lavasa, Anushal Garg and Vikas Kundal to the Senior Time Scale of IAS (15600-39100+GP of Rs 6600) w.e.f from 01-01-2017.

Like it ! Share it .....

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.